Wheel of Logos: Your 2019 Minor League Baseball Colour Wheel

Written By:  •  Thursday, April 4, 2019

Since the invention of the colour wheel by Isaac Newton in 1666, art teachers around the world have been using it to torture unwitting students. But we’re here to prove that the colour wheel can also be used for humane purposes!

It’s Opening Day for Minor League Baseball, and with that comes a tradition as old as three years ago: The SportsLogos Minor League Baseball Colour Wheel. (Here’s the original 2016 version and updates from 2017 and 2018.)

Here it is! As always, click on the image to embiggen.

New this year to the colour wheel are the Triple-A Las Vegas Aviators (formerly the 51s) and Syracuse Mets (formerly the Chiefs), the Double-A Amarillo Sod Poodles (formerly the San Antonio Missions), the Single-A Fayetteville Woodpeckers (formerly the Buies Creek Astros), and the short-season Class A Rocky Mountain Vibes (formerly the Helena Brewers). Additionally, four teams kept their team names but updated their visual identities: The Single-A Wisconsin Timber Rattlers and the Triple-A Nashville Sounds, Fresno Grizzlies, and Round Rock Express.

Not included this year are the Colorado Springs Sky Sox, who moved to San Antonio to assume the mantle of the Missions, and the Rocket City Trash Pandas, who garnered a bunch of attention with their new identity but are still the Mobile Bay Bears for one more season.

Article Categories:

Share This Article

Related News

About Author

Paul Caputo

Paul Caputo is a grown man who collects plastic ice cream helmet sundaes from minor league baseball stadiums because he likes logos that much. He is the author of the first book published by SportsLogos.net, The Story Behind the Nickname: The Origins of 100 Classic, Contemporary, and Wacky Minor League Baseball Team Names. He can be found on Twitter at @Count2Baseball and he maintains the Countdown to Spring Training on Facebook. Paul is a Philadelphia sports fan, but he's not so bad.