Predators Add Yellow Helmet to Home Uniform

Preds Gold

Did I say yellow? Sorry, they’re calling it “gold”.

The Nashville Predators have announced the team will wear a yellow/gold helmet for every Saturday home game in the 2015-16, part of a “Golden Saturday” promotion the club has launched.

During these Saturday home games the gold helmets will replace the standard navy blue lid the club typically wears for home games. The blue helmet will still be worn for every other home game.

“‘Golden Saturdays’ and the new GOLD helmets are both things we’ve been working on for a while and will bring something unique and special to an already incredible experience — a Saturday night in Smashville.” – Preds President Sean Henry

This would mark the first time an NHL team has worn a yellow helmet outside a throwback since the Vancouver Canucks did so almost 30 years ago, Vancouver switched from yellow at home to white following the 1988-89 season.

Vancouver Canucks 1988-89 Uniform Yellow Helmet

Below, the full schedule of gold helmet games for the Preds in 2015-16:

Sat Oct 10 vs Edmonton
Sat Oct 24 vs Pittsburgh
Sat Nov 7 vs St Louis
Sat Nov 14 vs Winnipeg
Sat Nov 28 vs Buffalo
Sat Dec 12 vs Colorado
Sat Dec 19 vs Minnesota
Sat Dec 26 vs Detroit
Sat Jan 16 vs Minnesota
Sat Feb 6 vs San Jose
Sat Feb 20 vs Los Angeles
Sat Feb 27 vs St Louis
Sat Mar 26 vs Columbus
Sat Apr 2 vs San Jose
Thu Apr 7 vs Arizona