Host Nations’ Indigenous Cultures Inspire FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 Logo

One of the biggest tournaments in women’s soccer is heading to Australia and New Zealand for the first time, and organizers are drawing heavily on Indigenous cultures in the host countries for inspiration for its visual identity.

FIFA unveiled the logos and other branding for the 2023 Women’s World Cup — to be held in July and August 2023 — on Thursday, Oct. 28. According to, the logo incorporates that “the vibrant local landscapes and rich colours of the two hosts, building a palette based on the rainforests, earth, mountains, cities, and water of the two countries.

“A radial motif featuring 32 colourful squares – celebrating the new expansion to 32 participating nations, and an element commonly seen across the indigenous cultures of Australia and New Zealand – is a prominent part of the design.”

Graphic courtesy Footy Headlines

The slogan for the tournament, “Beyond Greatness,” was also unveiled on Thursday. Graphics for the tournament feature patterns used by Indigenous cultures in both Australia and New Zealand, paired with bright colours.

Graphic courtesy Footy Headlines

“Women’s football continues to grow and Beyond Greatness, the new slogan perfectly captures where FIFA wants to take the female game in the hearts and minds of football fans worldwide,” said FIFA secretary general Fatma Samoura. “The new brand identity beautifully reflects the expansion of the tournament from 24 to 32 teams and evokes the colours and diversity of the national team strips taking part in the ultimate women’s football competition. We can’t wait for it to begin!”

Aside from the visuals, a “bespoke sonic identity” has been created for the tournament by electronic musician and producer Kelly Lee Owens.

“Unveiling this dynamic and innovative brand is a key milestone for the host countries in the journey to 2023,” said FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 CEO Dave Beeche. “We are proud to see our Māori and Indigenous Australian cultures play a key role in the creation of this powerful and unique global brand. We believe it’s a fitting symbol of our plans to deliver a tournament that will not only take players and fans Beyond Greatness, but continue the incredible momentum already underway in the growth of women’s sport and gender equality.”

The host cities (with their Indigenous names in parentheses) and stadiums for the tournament include:

  • Adelaide (Tarntanya), Australia – Hindmarsh Stadium
  • Auckland (Tāmaki Makaurau), New Zealand – Eden Park
  • Brisbane (Meaanjin), Australia – Brisbane Stadium 
  • Dunedin (Ōtepoti), New Zealand – Dunedin Stadium 
  • Hamilton (Kirikiriroa), New Zealand – Waikato Stadium 
  • Melbourne (Naarm), Australia – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium 
  • Perth (Boorloo) Perth Rectangular Stadium 
  • Sydney (Gadigal), Australia – Stadium Australia
  • Sydney (Gadigal), Australia – Sydney Football Stadium 
  • Wellington (Te Whanganui-a-Tara), New Zealand – Wellington Stadium 
Graphic courtesy Football Australia

Feature photo courtesy Sky Sports