Day Two of Marvel’s Minor League Baseball Logos – SportsLogos.Net News

Day Two of Marvel’s Minor League Baseball Logos

It’s day two of Minor League Baseball’s marathon of Marvel’s logo unveilings. In case you missed it yesterday, both MiLB and Marvel Entertainment announced they’d have special “Marvel’s Defenders of the Diamond” logos for 96(!!!) teams to be worn for at least one game per season in 2023 and 2024.

Each of the logos was designed by the folks at Marvel and, I presume, is meant to give each club a superhero-like look. Merchandise will be available in November once all 96 club logos are unveiled.

Yesterday, the first eight teams saw their designs released; you can check those out in detail here. Today we’re focusing on the next eight, after which we’ll have just 80 more new logos to look forward to… like I said, it’s a marathon. Here we go…


The Rumble Ponies, named for Binghamton’s status as the carousel capital of the world, are going with a grey horse with navy blue trim wearing silver armour, a single red eye visible under that mask as fire explodes from its mouth, enough to wrap around its head to form a fiery mane.


Indianapolis focused on their team mascot, “Rowdie” as their Marvel’s Defenders of the Diamond logo rather than trying to do anything with their primary branding (I’m sure you can make a reasonably obvious guess why that would be). Rowdie is shown with his usual baseball nose, smiling while wearing a backwards black baseball cap; the only addition to this is that Rowdie is now wearing a gold superhero-esque mask.


Would you look at the six-pack on that lobster… The Jersey Shore Blueclaws Marvel logo shows a blue lobster leaping out of the water wearing only a red baseball cap and a yellow pair of swim trunks, ripped, and headed into battle.


The Marvel logo for the Kannapolis Cannon Ballers gives us their moustachioed mascot/primary logo, wearing goggles and a stuntman’s helmet, leaping into the air, gloved fists punching upwards, ready to fly.


Here’s Marvel designing a logo for a team named after a Marvel character. A “trash panda” (commonly known as a raccoon) with a mischievous grin and facial striping resembling a rocket ship taking off between its eyes. The animal is wearing a space suit, though only everything from the neck up is shown, including a sizeable transparent helmet placed over its head.


Here’s Stu, the ordinarily docile mascot of the South Bend Cubs, who in this design is taking its pent-up frustrations (and apparent hunger?) out on the red, white-striped circle which typically frames its face within the South Bend Cubs’ secondary logo.


Another mascot-focused logo here is the Syracuse Mets (who really don’t have much excitement in their overall identity at the moment). They’ll be using “Scooch” for their Marvel design, a giant, stuffed, baseball-cap-wearing orange mascot with two exposed lower teeth in its mouth. Typically, Scooch is smiling and very loveable, but not so much today; he’s traded in his ballcap for a two-flapped batting helmet, his smile for a scowl, and his cuddly nature for something considerably more sinister.


I suppose if you have 96 of these things to design, at some point, you’ll find yourself falling into template-mode now-and-then. Here, the Toledo Mud Hens will be using, essentially, the same logo as the Kannapolis Cannon Ballers, the team’s primary logo with a superhero makeover, leaping towards the viewer in a classic superhero pose.

Here’s a look at all sixteen logos to have been unveiled thus far:

MiLB Marvel’s Defenders of the Diamond Teams: Full List

Here is the complete list of 96 MiLB teams that are participating in Marvel’s Defenders of the Diamond series in alphabetical order:

Aberdeen IronBirds, Albuquerque Isotopes, Amarillo Sod Poodles, Arkansas Travelers, Asheville Tourists, Augusta GreenJackets, Beloit Sky Carp, Biloxi Shuckers, Binghamton Rumble Ponies, Birmingham Barons, Bowling Green Hot Rods, Buffalo Bisons, Cedar Rapids Kernels, Charleston RiverDogs, Charlotte Knights, Chattanooga Lookouts, Clearwater Threshers, Columbia Fireflies, Columbus Clippers, Corpus Christi Hooks, Dayton Dragons, Daytona Tortugas, Delmarva Shorebirds, Durham Bulls, El Paso Chihuahuas, Erie SeaWolves, Eugene Emeralds, Everett AquaSox, Fayetteville Woodpeckers, Fort Myers Mighty Mussels, Fort Wayne TinCaps, Fresno Grizzlies, Frisco RoughRiders, Great Lakes Loons, Greensboro Grasshoppers, Greenville Drive, Gwinnett Stripers, Harrisburg Senators, Hartford Yard Goats, Hickory Crawdads, Hillsboro Hops, Hudson Valley Renegades, Indianapolis Indians, Inland Empire 66ers, Iowa Cubs, Jersey Shore BlueClaws, Kannapolis Cannon Ballers, Lake County Captains, Lake Elsinore Storm, Lansing Lugnuts, Las Vegas Aviators, Lehigh Valley IronPigs, Louisville Bats, Lynchburg Hillcats, Memphis Redbirds, Midland RockHounds, Modesto Nuts, Montgomery Biscuits, New Hampshire Fisher Cats, Norfolk Tides, Northwest Arkansas Naturals, Oklahoma City Dodgers, Omaha Storm Chasers, Pensacola Blue Wahoos, Portland SeaDogs, Rancho Cucamonga Quakes, Reno Aces, Richmond Flying Squirrels, Rochester Red Wings, Rocket City Trash Pandas, Rome Braves, Round Rock Express, Sacramento RiverCats, Salem Red Sox, Salt Lake Bees, San Antonio Missions, San Jose Giants, Scranton Wilkes-Barre RailRiders, Somerset Patriots, South Bend Cubs, Spokane Indians, Springfield Cardinals, St. Lucie Mets, St. Paul Saints, Stockton Ports, Sugar Land Space Cowboys, Syracuse Mets, Tampa Tarpons, Toledo Mud Hens, Tri-City Dust Devils, Tulsa Drillers, West Michigan Whitecaps, Wichita Wind Surge, Winston-Salem Dash, Wisconsin Timber Rattlers, and Worcester Red Sox.

Sixteen down, Eighty to go.